Bonding Over Charr

1 06 2009

Title: Bonding over Charr.

Author: DBZVelena (pen-name), Velena Maxwell (IGN), Forever Knight (Title).

Disclaimer: Everything regarding Guild wars belongs to ArenaNet and NCSoft. The Characters Grim Mortbane and Roan the Charr belong to StarrTheInsane. The Characters Velena Maxwell and Charr Charr belong to DBZVelena and can only be used by her explicit permission. Which is implied by this entry to the Short Story Contest (Mortbane 1079AE Part 1, 2 and 3) on www.guildwarsguru.com. (This means you can’t use her outside of this contest. Unless you ask me and get permission.)

Warnings: Humor, silliness and mentions of old drama.

Rating: pg-13


He spotted her at the fountain in the bazaar. A woman so out of place you just couldn’t help noticing. Even though these days there were a lot of travelers passing through Kodash. But who in their right mind would wear such thick fur in this heat?

Curiosity drew him closer, was she really wearing fur? Or did it only look like it from a distance?

Soon enough he was sitting at the edge of the fountain. One eye on Roan, to make sure the little Charr didn’t wander to far of, and one eye on the strange woman.

It wasn’t until he was that close that he noticed she was holding something. Or better said, one one.

She was holding a young Charr, helping him drink from the fountain, while making sure he wouldn’t fall in. How strange, since from her appearance she was most likely from Ascalon or Kryta. All though something told him it had to be Ascalon, something about how she kept her eye on everything around her even as she was helping the cub.

Thats when he realized she had noticed his approach all along. He also noticed the set of bows leaning against her pack. A ranger from Ascalon, raising a Charr Cub? Could she too have seen Dwayna? Could she too have been blessed with the care of a new generation of Charr?

The Ranger set the Charr cub on the ground after he was done. “Now don’t wander off to far Charr Charr, stay where I can see you!” A short growl and then a reply. “Yes, mom. And don’t talk to strangers, don’t eat strange things and don’t eat the furniture.”

This drew a laugh out of Grim. It was so much like how Roan would respond.

The sound of his fathers laughter drew Roan’s attention. And he spotted the other Charr cub. Immediately he ran over and tackled the other Charr cub. And soon the two boys were in a big wrestling match together.

He yours?” The comment drew Grim’s attention back to the strange woman.

Yea, found him during a raid up north in Charr country. His name is Roan.”

The woman smiled and held out her hand. “Hi, My name is Velena Maxwell, and that tyke over there is my adopted son Charr Charr. Probably a similar story how I found mine as you found yours. All though I think your boy is maybe a bit older?”

Grim smiled and shook her hand. “Hi, I’m Grim Mortbane. And yea Roan is about 4 or 5 I think.”

Velena grinned. “Yes thats what I thought. Charr Charr is 3. I know because due to unfortunate circumstances his mother found her death at the end of my arrows.”

Velena wasn’t smiling anymore after that reminder of the harsh reality of how she had gotten the joy of her life.

Grim frowned, he didn’t like the sad look on Velena’s face. He placed his hand on her shoulder. “Trust me, it was the best thing that could have happened. If not for you, he would have grown up a coldblooded killer with no remorse. I know Dwayna has wanted it this way.”

Velena gave Grim a crooked smile. “Ya think so hu? Well at least he gets to see the world.“

Grim looked over at their cubs. They were currently running around in circles trying to grab each others tail.

So what brought you to Vabbi? And for that matter why in the name of the six gods are you wearing that thick fur?”

Velena laughed heartily. “Yes, it is kind of hot to be wearing fur isn’t it? I guess its a habit now, I’ve gotten used to it. But before I made this outfit out of the skin of Charr Charr’s mother. Yes I know that sounds harsh, but I had to. Charr Charr wouldn’t eat without the scent of his mother back then. So I was dragging along this really big hide of fur along on my back just so the cub would eat, sleep and survive. After a while I just got tired of dragging it along, so I made this out of the hide. It worked. I’ve been wearing it so long that by now its my scent and not his dead mothers that he smells. But it still helps him at night when he has nightmares.”

Grim was surprised at the solid reasoning behind the mystery of the fur outfit. “Is that why you dyed it green too?”

Velena shook her head, still laughing. “Noooo, I just like the color green. It suits me. It helps me blend in when I’m hunting in the forest. All though here I’m kind of standing out aren’t I?”

Grim Grinned at Velena “Only a little, you’d be surprised what the nobles here wear. Sometimes it looks really ridiculous.”

They looked at the two Charr cubs playing tag, running through peoples legs. Making the locals who knew Roan laugh and the travelers frown.

And as they were watching their adopted Children, Grim came to a conclusion. Maybe it wouldn’t be a bad thing to get to know Velena a bit better.

Hey Velena, you wouldn’t happen to already have a place to stay for the night yet would you?”

Velena shook her head sadly. “No, you’d be surprised how often I’m refused due to Charr Charr. I was actually planning to sleep right here.”

Grim smiled. “Hey why don’t you stay with us for a while? Roan can use a playmate and I don’t mind the company.”

Velena smiled back. “Yes, I think I’d like that. Only for a little while though. I wouldn’t want to impose to much.”

Grim laughed. “nonsense, you wouldn’t impose and besides our kids are friends already.”

And so they smiled and talked at the fountain while keeping an eye on their kids until it was time to head home.

And what happened after that? Well, thats another story.


Actions

Information

One response

13 12 2009
Juiskiquene

Truthful words, some unadulterated words dude. You made my day!!

Leave a comment